A Lick of Paint and It’ll Soon Be Home Sweet Home

You know what it’s like when you move in to a new place.  There’s the anticipation, then there’s the horrible bit, humping the furniture, those boxes of nick-nacks that you’ve accumulated from God knows where over the years.  Then it’s all hands on-deck to get the new place up to scratch and looking all caz in time for the house-warming, when all your mates, and a stranger who had just been walking past and somehow managed to gate-crash, get to drink yourself silly and congratulate yourself on a job well done.

So, welcome to Saxon Media Productions!  We’ve recently moved in from #Buzzfeed – it had been a lovely little place, but we out grew it, or rather I should say that the Buzzfeed community team decided that we were no longer welcome and evicted us.  What horrific crime did we commit I hear you cry in order for us to be thrown out on to the cold hard streets of whistling into the wind.  Well, we’re still wondering the same thing.  In fact, it came literally as a bolt from the blue.  One cotton-pickin’ moment our feed was up and running, a moment later, it had disappeared, faster than Paul Daniel’s could make his, ummm glamerous assistant Debbie Mcgee vanish.

So, as I had not received any notification from Buzzfeed that there was a problem with their service; or that an article I had written had in some way contravined their T&C’s; or that they were intending to completely delete my account, together with all of my work (at least giving me the opportunity to download copies), I completed the ‘Contact Form’ as advised by their website.  I eagerly awaited their reply.  After some time I decided that perhaps the form hadn’t worked properly, so I submitted my problems to them via Twitter, and once again, sat on the edge of my seat.  Still no reply!  Okay, I was getting kind of desperate by this time, I hadn’t posted an article all day, and my fingers were aching to skip across the keyboard, so I eventually found an email address for their support team, and the response was fairly quick, I only had to wait an hour.  But oh what a response!  I have to say I read it, and by the time I had got to the end my astonishment had turned to anger.  Oh yes, ladies and gentlemen, I almost stamped my foot, I was that exasperated.  However, before I deal with it’s contents, perhaps I ought to share them with you, so here it is :

Brett Vergara (BuzzFeed)

Jan 28, 12:55 PM

Hi there-
BuzzFeed is no longer supporting new posts from Community Brand Publisher accounts, which include any accounts with a political, commercial, or promotional agenda. This also includes charities, nonprofit, and campus organizations. You can learn more about our new guidelines for brands and Community accounts here: http://www.buzzfeed.com/community/brands
Your account was deemed promotional in nature by our Community team.
Best-

Brett Vergara | BuzzFeed | Associate Community Manager | | @BrettSVergara

In essence what Buzzfeed (represented by Mr Vergara) is saying is that virtually any article is open to being removed, or any account to be closed that has either a political, commercial or promotional agenda.  That pretty much leaves nothing other than competely pointless, un-interesting, un-informative rubbish.  They are certainly aiming for mediocracy.  They are pretty generous with the organisations that they are keen to remove, with charities, nonprofit and campus (I take that to refer to educational establishments) being singled out.  Surely, it is through the charity and non-profit sectors where many of the Worlds injustices are first brought to people’s attentions.  You need only look at the current refugee crisis to see how charities have led the way in bringing the situation to the attention of the public.  Yet, to include campus or educational establishments is to my mind ludicrous in the extreme – surely we should be encouraging our young people; listening to them; giving them the experience to build productive lives, actually able to make a difference.

So, here we are then, our first night- I feel so much better for getting that off my chest.  I just hope that the landlords of our new place are a little less put off by anything that’s not got a video of a kitten slipping off the back of the sofa plastered all over it!

Leave a Reply

